Serhat TUNAR -TDO- Following the European Parliament elections held in May in the European Union member countries, a new presidential election was held for the new period.

The candidate of the Social Democrats, the Italian David Maria Sassoli, became the new president of the European Parliament with gaining 345 of 667 valid votes in the second round of voting. Manfred Weber, the president of the European People's Party, the largest group in the European Parliament, said he would not run for president ship for the preservation of the balance and that he would support Sassoli.

Ska Keller, the candidate of the European Green Party, Sira Rego, the candidate of the European United Left-Scandinavian Green Left, and Jan Zahradil, the candidate of the European Conservatives, were competing for the presidency of the Parliament.

The president of the European Parliament, the only body directly elected by the public in the institutions of the European Union, is elected by a majority of 751 representatives in the parliament. As it is known, while the members of parliament are elected for 5 years, new votes are held every 2.5 years for the presidency of the parliament.